Rebecca Holcombe Issues New List of 11 Legislative Endorsements

NORWICH, VERMONT – On Thursday morning, Rebecca Holcombe’s campaign for Governor issued a list of 11 additional endorsements, adding to the 12 legislative and 2 Democratic party endorsements she announced in January.

The new endorsements include:

Current Senator

Ann Cummings – Senator from Washington County

  • Chair of Senate Finance Committee

Former Senator

Claire Ayer, Senator from Addison County

  • Chair of Senate Committee on Health and Welfare
  • Chair of Health Reform Oversight Committee
  • Member of Joint Fiscal Committee
  • Member of Senate Committees on Ethics, Government Operations

Former House Representatives:

Martha Heath – Chittenden-8-3

  • Chair of the House Committee on Appropriations
  • Health Reform Oversight Committee (HROC)
  • Joint Fiscal Committee (JFC)

Bill Botzow – Bennington-1

  • Chair of House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development
  • Regional Economic Development Grant Advisory Committee

Maureen Dakin – Chittenden-9-2.

  • House Committee on Appropriations
  • House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development

Helen Head – Chittenden-7-3

  • House Committee on General, Housing, and Military Affairs

Tony Klein – Washington-5

  • Chair of The House Committee on Natural Resources and Energy
  • Joint Energy Committee

Current House Representatives

Johannah Donovan – Chittenden-6-5

  • Ranking member House Committee on Ways and Means

Matthew Hill – Lamoille-2

  • State Workforce Development Board
  • House Committee on Natural Resources, Fish, and Wildlife
  • Clerk of the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development

Diane Lanpher, Addison-3

  • House Committee on Appropriations
  • Chair of the Advisory Council on Child Poverty and Strengthening Families 

Jean O’Sullivan – Chittenden-2

  • Ranking member of the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development
  • Minimum Wage Study Committee
  • Vermont Economic Progress Council

The list includes former and current elected officials, including leaders with strong experience in economic development and state finance and budgeting. 

Rebecca thanked these Vermont leaders with leaders for supporting her campaign and for believing, as she does, that we have a unique opportunity in 2020 to identify priority sectors for Vermont’s economic future, and to invest in ways that ensure every single Vermonter has the capacity to prosper in that future.

Former Rep. Martha Heath (Chittenden-8-3), said: “I’m supporting Rebecca because I’ve seen her in action as Vermont’s Secretary of Education.  As a former chair of House Appropriations, I believe Rebecca has the expertise to create sound state budgets that focus on the critical needs of Vermont and Vermonters. Rebecca has the right values to make Vermont a better place for all of us.”

Former Rep. Bill Botzow, who served as Chair of the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development, said: “Rebecca Holcombe understands what Vermonters need and what our state could be. I worked with her as Chair of the House Commerce and Economic Development Committee while she was Secretary Of Education for two administrations. She broke the ice with Career Pathways, attention to Workforce Development and championing early education. But much more needs to be done so Vermonters have the opportunities and support they need to lead productive lives. She’s the Governor to make it happen. Our state will thrive.”

Rep. Matt Hill, who has served on the state’s Workforce Development Board, in addition to the House Committee on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife, and Committee on Commerce and Economic Development said “Rebecca knows how important workforce development is to solving our challenges and creating prosperity for Vermont. She has coordinated work across sectors to get the job done for Vermonters. That is why I am supporting Rebecca for Governor.”

Former Rep. Dakin, who served on the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development, said “The state needs a Governor who will engage with the General Assembly so legislators can write the best laws. Once legislation is enacted, the state needs a Governor and administration who can implement those laws effectively, so that positive intent is achieved, and government makes life better for Vermonters. Rebecca has demonstrated to me that she is the leader and manager who can both support the legislature and lead a government that works for all Vermonters.”

As she expressed gratitude for their support, Rebecca said “These supporters come from different parts of the state and represent a range of experiences. What we have in common is a belief in the potential of Vermont and our people.  We know there is no strong Vermont without a strong and prosperous working class.  We all know our future depends both on protecting what makes Vermont special, and making sure economic opportunity and prosperity is shared.”

In response to the significant early support from legislators across the state, campaign manager, Cameron Russell, remarked, “This growing group of supporters makes clear that Rebecca has earned the trust of many well-respected leaders, who have confidence in her ability to confront and address the complex challenges we face as a state.”

The previously released list of endorsers is below and full list can be found on Rebecca’s website at

House Representatives:
Tim Briglin – Windsor-Orange 2
Kevin “Coach” Christie – Windsor 4-2
Sara Coffey – Windham 1
Peter Conlon – Addison 2
Martin Lalonde – Chittenden 7-1
Jim Masland – Windsor-Orange 2
David Potter – Rutland 2
Ann Pugh – Chittenden 7-2
Mary Sullivan – Chittenden 6-5 & DNC Committeewoman
Maida Townsend – Chittenden 7-4
David Yacovone – Lamoille-Washington
Sam Young – Orleans-Caledonia

Democratic Party Leadership
Dottie Deans – Former Vermont Democratic Party Chair
Tim Jerman – Former House Representative, Vermont Democratic Party Vice Chair, & Current DNC Committeeman